Sunday, October 22, 2017

COPPER HARBOR LIGHTHOUSE

Copper Harbor Lighthouse Tours

pic2

Location: KEWEENAW PENINSULA/LAKE SUPERIOR 
Station Established: 1849 
Year Current Tower(s) First Lit: 1866 
Operational? NO 
Automated? YES 1919 
Deactivated: 1933 
Foundation Materials: DRESSED STONE/TIMBER 
Construction Materials: BRICK 
Tower Shape: SQUARE 
Markings/Pattern: NATURAL W/BLACK LANTERN 
Relationship to Other Structure: ATTACHED 
Original Lens: FRESNEL 1856

 


Historical Information:

  • Copper Harbor is one of the first two lighthouses to be established on Lake Superior (Whitefish Point is the other).
  • 1847 – Congress appropriated $5,000 for a lighthouse at this site.
  • 1849 – 1st lighthouse built.
  • 1856 – 4th order Fresnel lens installed.
  • 1866 – Current tower built.
  • 1883 – The lighthouse was discontinued due to waning harbor traffic.
  • 1888 – The lighthouse was re-established. The original lens had been relocated to another lighthouse, so a new 4th order lens was installed.
  • 1927 – The light was removed from the lighthouse and put on a steel tower.
  • 1937 – Light electrified and 300 mm lens installed.

Keepers:

  • Henry Clow (1849 – 1853)
  • Henry Shurter (1853 – 1855)
  • Napoleon Bonaparte Beedon (1855 – 1869)
  • John Power (1869 – 1873)
  • Charles Corgan (1873 – 1881)
  • Edward Chambers (1881 – 1882)
  • James Rich (1882 – 1883)
  • Henry Corgan (1883 – 1919)

Researched and written by Marie Vincent, a volunteer through the Chesapeake Chapter of the U.S. Lighthouse Society.