Sunday, October 22, 2017

BOIS BLANC ISLAND LIGHTHOUSE (OLD)

If you have photos of this lighthouse and would like to have them used, post them on the Facebook Fan page. Post your photos

STRAITS OF MACKINAC, LAKE HURON, BOIS BLANC ISLAND, MICHIGAN
Station Established: 1829
Year Current Tower(s) First Lit: 1868
Operational? NO
Automated? N/A
Deactivated: 1924
Foundation Materials: EMPLACED
Construction Materials: YELLOW BRICK
Tower Shape: 
Markings/Pattern: NATURAL WITH WHITE LANTERN
Relationship to Other Structure: ATTACHED
Original Lens: FOURTH ORDER FRESNEL

Historical Information:

  • Bois Blanc Island Light was the second light station established on Lake Huron. The first lighthouse at the station was a 65 foot masonry tower and keeper’s quarters. Built dangerously close to the surf, the tower fell into the lake in 1837.
  • A second lighthouse was built on the island in 1839 on higher ground. It was a 30 foot stone tower. A fourth order Fresnel lens was installed in 1857.
  • The third and current lighthouse was built in 1867, after the second lighthouse was considered to be in a “severely dilapidated” condition. It is a two story dwelling with an attached tower in the front. The tower is 38 feet tall. The fourth order lens from the second light was installed in this tower.
  • The Bois Blanc Island Lighthouse was deactivated in 1924 and was replaced by a new automated acetylene light on a steel tower.
  • The light was decommissioned in 1955 and sold to a private owner in 1956. The 1867 lighthouse is a private residence but the steel tower is an active aid to navigation.

The above was researched and written by Melissa Buckler, a volunteer through the Chesapeake Chapter of the U.S. Lighthouse Society.

Keepers:

  • Eber Ward (1829-1843)
  • William Church (1843-1843)
  • Lyman Granger (1845-1854)
  • Mrs. Charles O’Malley (1854-1855)
  • Henry Grainger (1855-1857, Mary Grainger filed in for him for a few month)
  • Peter Therien (1857-1859)
  • Charles Syons (1859-1861)
  • Charles Louisignau (1861-1866)
  • Charles Hamel (1866-1867)
  • John Wackter (1867-1870)
  • Vetal Bourisau (1870-1874)
  • Levi Chapman (1874-1881)
  • William Marshall (1881- acting keeper for two months)
  • Lorenzo Holder (1881-1894)
  • Henry Metivier (1894-1924)

The above was researched and written by Catherine (Kitty) Price, a volunteer through the Chesapeake Chapter of the U.S. Light House Society.