Monday, December 11, 2017

Little River Lighthouse

lr-thumbCutler Harbor, Maine is the last protected harbor before the Canadian border. The need for a lighthouse grew as the fishing, trade and ship building industries grew. The Little River Light Station was established in 1846.

A stone keeper’s house attached to a stone tower was the first light at the site. In 1855 a fifth order lens replaced the lamps and reflectors in the light. In 1876 a new 41 foot cast iron tower was built. The tower was lined with brick and still stands. At the time the original dwelling was left standing. The top of the original tower was removed though. In 1888 a new Victorian wood house was built and the original dwelling was razed. The Victorian house still remains.

The light was automated in 1975. In 1980 the Coast Guard moved the Fresnel lens to a skeletal tower in front of the light station. The station was licensed to the American Lighthouse Foundation. In 2001 the lens was moved back to the 1876 tower.

Courtesy of the United States Coast Guard

State: MAINE
Location: LITTLE RIVER ISLAND / CUTLER HARBOR
Nearest City: CUTLER
County: WASHINGTON
U.S.C.G. District: 1
Year Station Established: 1847

Existing Historic Tower:
Year Light First Lit: 1876
Is the Light Operational? YES
Date Deactivated: 1975-2001
Automated: 1974
Foundation Materials: GRANITE BLOCKS
Construction Materials: CAST IRON/BRICK
Markings/Patterns: WHITE W/BLACK LANTERN
Shape: CYLINDRICAL
Relationship to Other Structures: SEPARATE
Tower Height: 41
Original Optic: FIFTH ORDER, FRESNEL
Year Original Lens Installed: 1855
Present Optic: UNKNOWN
Year Present Lens Installed: 2001
Height of Focal Plane: 56
Fresnel Lens Disposition: UNKNOWN
Has tower been moved? NO
Previous Tower(s):

Modern Tower? YES; NO LONGER IN USE
Year Tower Constructed: 1975
Type: SKELETAL
Tower Height: 41
Height of Focal Plane: 56
Existing Sound Signal Building? NO (DISMANTLED)
Year Constructed:
Construction Materials:
Architectural Style: BELL TOWER
Fog Signal Type: HORN/ORIG. BELL
Existing Keepers Quarters? YES
Year Constructed: 1888
Number of Stories: 1.5
Architectural Style: L-SHAPE VICTORIAN
Construction Materials: WOOD
Other Structures: BRICK OIL HOUSE (1905), BOATHOUSE (1881)

Current Use: BIRD SANCTUARY/RESTORATION IN PROGRESS

Owner/Manager: AMERICAN LIGHTHOUSE FOUNDATION

Open to the Public? UNKNOWN

National Register Status: LISTED; Reference #88000156
Name of Listing: LITTLE RIVER LIGHT STATION
On State List/Inventory? NO; Year Listed:

HABS/HAER Documentation? YES, ME-216 (MARO)

Miscellaneous:
RELIT OCTOBER 2, 2001. TRANSFERRED TO THE AMERICAN LIGHTHOUSE FOUNDATION IN 2002 UNDER THE AUSPICES OF THE NATIONAL HISTORIC LIGHTHOUSE PRESERVATION ACT.

Courtesy of the National Park Service